Planning

The Planning and Development Services Department, under the authority and policy direction of the Village Council, is responsible for administering the Village’s land use plan including the provision of comprehensive planning and assisting in the permit processing services. The department is responsible for developing, implementing, and ensuring compliance with the Village’s Comprehensive Plan and land use ordinances and regulations, reviewing and processing of development permits, carrying out long-range planning projects, and providing oversight and protection of the Village’s environmental resources.

The department prepares data and analysis pertaining to land use for use by the public and other agencies. The department’s GIS (Geographic Information Systems) and graphics capabilities support the department's decision making, enhance the community's public participation process, and provide services to the residents of Islamorada through strategic planning, data analysis and map preparation, and the pursuit of grants.

The department provides information and assistance to the public and property owners. The department emphasizes public participation by employing various techniques including meetings with individuals and groups, facilitating workshops and conducting formal public hearings. Outreach to the public is accomplished through mailings, press releases and advertising.

The department also acts as liaison to numerous Village committees and intergovernmental working groups including: the Local Planning Agency, the CDBG Citizens Advisory Task Force, the Carrying Capacity Study, the Achievable Housing Citizens Advisory Committee, the Land Acquisition Advisory Committee, the Historic Preservation Commission and the County’s Local Mitigation Strategy Workgroup. 

Cheryl Cioffari
Director of Planning
Phone: 305-664-6422
cheryl.cioffari@islamorada.fl.us

Anita Muxo
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 305-664-6426
anita.muxo@islamorada.fl.us

Karl Bursa
Senior Planner
Phone: 305-664-6416
karl.bursa@islamorada.fl.us

Brad Stein
Senior Planner
Phone: 305-664-6424
brad.stein@islamorada.fl.us

Jenna Lane
Planner
Phone: 305-664-6421
jenna.lane@islamorada.fl.us

Megan Rumbaugh
Planner
Phone: 305-664-6423
megan.rumbaugh@islamorada.fl.us